Home > Social Media, Uncategorized > +1 For Google+

+1 For Google+

Update July 11, 2011: You can now circle me on Google+ here http://gplus.to/mattduench

I recently received an invitation to try Google+ – the new social networking site from google. I was immediately impressed with its simplicity in design as well as the ease in creating an account. Seamless integration across android devices makes this a powerful social networking tool for the mobile-connected generation. Check out my review of the service here:


ORYX Advertising Website

Like this post? Share it with your friends and leave your comments below.

  1. Raphael
    June 29, 2011 at 1:22 am

    The killer feature is context. The first social network that might actually work properly instead presenting some interesting information in massive ocean of ruid.

    I saw all the fuss on twitter and installed google+ from the android market only to realise it was invite only. Got a spare invite for me to try it out?

  2. June 29, 2011 at 1:41 am

    Agree, and thanks for the comment. It’s my belief that there has been a lot of attrition from Facebook in particular. I feel the active member numbers are slightly inflated. I’ve talked to a lot of people and unless it’s their birthday or they are sharing something that their baby did that day – they hardly use FB anymore. Difficult for me to believe that they are 750M strong.

    They haven’t seeded us with invites for Google+ yet and it’s my hope that they’ll open it up to everyone and not make it invite only. If they don’t, I feel they’ll suffer the same fate as Google wave. They’ll make it so exclusive that nobody can actually use the service.

    Come on Google, just launch full-scale and fix the bugs later. It’s what we’re used to from you.

  3. Raphael
    June 29, 2011 at 3:05 am

    I’m sure those 750m aren’t active users not the mention the amount of people that singed up to use a service that uses facebook connect.

    I just realized, although I’m not in plus yet, my top bar in google search changed to black and I’m seem all these social integration probably from some of my contacts using plus.

    http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=kc0av9&s=7
    clicking his pic takes me to his plus profile

  4. June 29, 2011 at 3:16 am

    That could be a likely scenario. I do see D. Sullivan in Google+ & I’m able to add him to circles as well. If you’re seeing the black bar, I’m sure it’s a matter of time. That’s exactly what mine looks like.

  5. June 29, 2011 at 1:59 pm

    Cool! Thanks for the sneak peak of Google+. Looks like the ultimate social media aggregator, plus more. Wondering if this will make other accts obsolete (like Google Reader, skype, etc). I’m sold, but it will be interesting to see if users find value….

  6. June 29, 2011 at 2:05 pm

    @Erica – Thanks for the comment!
    I agree – I think user adoption & perceived value will be the biggest hurdle. I think they’re very well positioned & although I don’t have a droid phone, android integration is seamless and apparently mobile experience mirrors online experience which is awesome.

    I keep harping on this, but they really need to open it up to the rest of the world or people will lose interest and it will fade away much like Google Wave..

  7. June 13, 2014 at 3:33 pm

    My spouse and I stumbled over here coming from a different web address and thought I may as well check things out.
    I like what I see so now i am following you. Look forward to looking into your web page again.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

