Home > Business Strategy, Marketing, Social Media > Stop Linking your Social Media Profiles.

Stop Linking your Social Media Profiles.

Please. Stop.

I used to do it. I admit it. I enjoyed the convenience of being able to update FB & LinkedIn together with a single tweet. I then realized how annoying this is. Not for me – for my followers. So I stopped.

The reality is that these are very different platforms. My Facebook friends are very different from my LinkedIn connections and twitter followers. A small percentage of my following crosses these platforms, but for the most part, these audiences are independent of each other.

The nature of the messages I post inside of each platform for the most part are very different as well. Inside of Facebook, I might post a photo album of a recent vacation or wish a friend a Happy Birth Day. With twitter, I’m constantly re-tweeting information that I believe will be relevant to my twitter followers such as articles, links to videos on YouTube or breaking news. In LinkedIn, I will infrequently post links to business articles, business recommendations, etc.

The key is posting RELEVANT information for each audience. Which is what marketers and advertisers should focus on as well.

Recently, someone I follow on Twitter and LinkedIn posted a link to a videothat updated in both platforms: I thought it was hilarious and excellent content for twitter, but I also thought about how a colleague, peer or client might perceive this post in LinkedIn.

Be mindful of message frequency in each platform.
Twitter – High-volume of updates. Frequent posting is less likely to annoy your audience/followers.
Facebook – Medium-volume of updates. Frequent posting is likely to annoy your audience/friends.
LinkedIn – Low-volume of updates. Frequent posting is extremely likely to annoy your audience/connections.

Signs people are getting annoyed at your linked updates:
1. One of your Facebook friends says, “Man, you tweet a lot” (and, they’re not on twitter)
2. You’re talking to a client connected through Linkedin and they say, “Wow. It looks like you really had a lot of fun on Saturday….”
3. Someone creates a blog post called, “Stop linking your social media profiles.”

Social media should be social. It should be about connecting with your audience by sharing information relevant to them. When you link your profiles, you not only look like a robot – it’s like saying, “I don’t know you very well” to your friends, followers and connections.

  1. February 18, 2011 at 7:15 pm

    Agree with your post 100% Matt! I personally chose to hide Twitter updated in Facebook because of the amount of people that have it linked and was getting annoyed seeing the same update in both platforms. And I agree with you, not all posts are appropriate for linkedin and people should be more careful 😉

  2. June 14, 2011 at 6:24 pm

    I like the message, think about your audience when you post content.

    However, keep in mind that not everyone shares the same content or posts at the same frequency as everyone else. Someone that doesn’t tweet a lot or at all but links together their LinkedIn or Facebook status updates to their Twitter feed is probably better off than not linking them and not tweeting at all. Linking LinkedIn to Facebook is probably good, too. Different methods fit different folks.

    Also keep in mind some people really don’t mind being open and transparent, sharing content across their social networks more than yourself, and that’s ok. You are in control of who you follow or get updates from, change it as you like instead of having others conform to your levels of broadcasting comfort.

    Let’s not even touch on businesses and how they manage social media, it’s even more diverse.

    Thanks for reading,
    Rob

  1. February 18, 2011 at 5:38 pm

Leave a Reply

