Home > Blackberry, Marketing, tablets, Uncategorized > Interesting Data on Tablet Usage, Demographics and Mobile Marketing

Interesting Data on Tablet Usage, Demographics and Mobile Marketing

If I told you 14 months ago that there’s a market out there that doesn’t exist yet, but will be worth approximately $35 Billion by 2012, what would you say?

Last year, you may have said it’s impossible but that is exactly what the tablet market is estimated to be valued at by next year.

It’s no secret that Apple created this space with the launch of the iPad in 2010. Since then, there have been dozens of competitors enter the market hoping to capitalize on this newly developed category while trying to erode Apple’s marketshare strangle hold of nearly 90% of all tablets. Recently, these and other interesting usage statistics from 1st generation tablet users were revealed at the OMMA Tablet Revolution Conference in New York on June 6, 2011. I have collected this information below, please provide your feedback and thoughts.

Tablet Market

Tablet Devices in Market

I have had my BlackBerry Playbook for just over two weeks now and I’m finding i’m using it as a quick resource to the internet, browsing, games, youtube, music and movies. In addition to the Playbook, there is the iPad2, Dell Streak, Samsung Galaxy tab, Motorola Xoom, HP Slate, among others. So, how are people currently using their tablet today? What opportunities do tablets bring to advertisers and marketers with respect to mobile marketing? A panel that included David Gill , VP, Mobile Media and Marketing , The Nielsen Company, provided this insight:

  • UM research says 3 iPad owner mindsets – simplicity craver, on demand lifestyle, the family enabler
  • Tablet owners skews male, median age 38, Median HHI $142K, married w/ kids
  • Tablet owners download an average of 18 apps.
  • 65% want magazines on their tablet
  • Tablets are being used for fun, learning and to pass the time, but NOT so much to connect with friends as of yet
  • Interestingly, men aged 25-34 and women aged 45-54 use tablets the most
  • Holding up iPad – “This our new yard sign” – says Michael Fischer, CMo Coldwell Banker
  • Free apps are still the norm; must drive ways to get people to pay for apps
  • Consumers did not like ads that played music automatically when they engage (just like online)
  • Interactive ad features are a must, with videos being liked the most (75%)
  • Most tab users are NOT using their tabs to connect — more about content now
  • 56% of tablet users say they use it several times a day. 63% share their tablet with 2 or more people
  • The mobility of the tablet can help increase the validity of other channels, such as TV
  • Tablets are the “slouch” device. Lean back consumption & entertainment. Quickly becoming preferred web device while watching tv
  • Jeremy Lockhorn, Razorfish “tablets are not a replacement device, they are a media complementary device
  • What makes tablet different isn’t touch, but its form factor and inherent sharing
  • While there are challenges in this space, it’s a magical device with opportunities for everyone

Do you own a tablet? If so, which tablet do you own?

  1. Anonymous
    June 9, 2011 at 2:58 pm

    how recent is the panel data?

    • June 9, 2011 at 9:15 pm

      Hi there – the data is from the OMMA Tablet Revolution conference on June 6, 2011 held in New York. It covers research into the tablet market over the last 12 months.

  2. Anonymous
    July 24, 2011 at 11:55 am

    it would be interesting to see which of your poll respondents paid out of pocket for their tablet and which had it covered as a business expense.

    I cast 1 vote for PlayBook and i did not pay for it. If it was not provided to me by my company i would not own a tablet yet.

    Still not enough value for what is 1/3 of the cost of taking 2 kids to Disney for a week.

    However once we see some of the NFC and Augmented Reality features hit this sector i think we’ll start to understand the true power of this platform. And i might finally be able to justify the expense to my wife.

  3. February 21, 2013 at 11:45 pm

    I don’t even know the way I stopped up right here, but I assumed this submit used to be great. I do not understand who you are but definitely you’re going to a
    well-known blogger when you aren’t already. Cheers!

  4. April 12, 2013 at 12:50 pm

    My partner and I stumbled over here by a different web address and thought I may as well check things out.

    I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to checking out your web page yet again.

  5. April 27, 2013 at 12:07 pm

    Good day! Would you mind if I share your blog with my facebook
    group? There’s a lot of folks that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Thank you

  6. June 14, 2013 at 11:32 pm

    Fantastic goods from you, man. I’ve consider your stuff prior to and you are simply too magnificent. I really like what you’ve acquired right here, certainly
    like what you’re saying and the best way in which you assert it. You are making it entertaining and you continue to take care of to keep it wise. I can’t wait to learn far
    more from you. That is actually a terrific site.

  7. July 10, 2013 at 9:13 am

    Hey there! Do you know if they make any plugins to
    safeguard against hackers? I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard on.

    Any recommendations?

  8. August 6, 2013 at 10:01 am

    What’s Happening i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I have discovered It positively helpful and it has helped me out loads. I hope to give a contribution & help other users like its helped me. Good job.

  1. June 10, 2011 at 5:33 pm
  2. June 7, 2013 at 8:07 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

